Thu. Mar 23rd, 2023

Lionel Messi of Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain has been named men’s player of the year at the 2022 Best Fifa Awards.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner triumphed over French forwards Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema.

Messi, 35, scored 27 goals in 49 games for the club and country in 2021-22, helping Argentina win the World Cup in Qatar.

Alexia Putellas of Barcelona was named women’s player of the year.

Lionel Scaloni, who led Argentina to their third World Cup title, was named men’s coach of the year at the ceremony in Paris.

Scaloni was chosen over Pep Guardiola, who led Manchester City to their sixth Premier League title, and Real Madrid’s Champions League-winning manager Carlo Ancelotti.

Sarina Wiegman of England was named women’s coach of the year after leading the Lionesses to their first major title, the European Championship, on home soil last year.

Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina was named the best men’s goalkeeper.

The 30-year-old assisted his country in winning the World Cup, saving four penalties along the way, including the final shootout victory over France.

Marcin Oleksy, an amputee footballer from Warta Poznan, won the Fifa Puskas award for the best goal in world football for his stunning strike against Stal Rzeszow, in which he sent a powerful overhead volley into the back of the net while using crutches.

The fair play award was given to Luka Lochoshvili, who saved the life of his opponent, Georg Teigl, by holding his opponent’s tongue.

Thibaut Courtois, Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe are the Fifpro men’s world XI.

Full list of winners:

The Best men’s player: Lionel Messi

The Best women’s player: Alexia Putellas

The Best men’s goalkeeper: Emiliano Martinez

The Best women’s goalkeeper: Mary Earps

The Best men’s coach: Lionel Scaloni

The Best women’s coach: Sarina Wiegman

The Best Puskas award: Marcin Oleksy

The Best fan award: Argentina fans

The Best fair play award: Luka Lochoshvili

Also Read: Top 5 Ghanaian Players of all time


By Playhaus

Everything News.....